Redeeming ourselves

So if you read my sad little blog about our anniversary, you’ll know this trip to Florida wasn’t off to a great start. When we got up on 27th and figured we’d make another go off it. We thought about going all the way to Fort Lauderdale where our first art show is, but about an hour into our trip, Scot asked if I want to stop and stay in St. Augustine for the night. I’m thinking it’s like several hours down the road, but it’s not. We’ll arrive there at noon. I’m like why? And he shares with me how he visited it as a kid and how it’s the oldest city in America and has this super cool Spanish fort. I’m like.. you want to play tourist? Can we do that? I vaguely remember doing a little bit of that when we were first married, but after we had kids it was pretty much if we stopped at something it was because we were moving somewhere or because we lived in the area. I can count on one hand the time we played tourist after we had kids. Sorry kids..
I’m like sure.. and so we called up an RV place and got reservations… and we stopped!
Our first visit after settling in at the campground Barnacle Bill’s seafood restaurant… where we dined on a meal that should have been our anniversary dinner. YUM!
Then we walked down to the Spanish fort, Castillo de San Marcos.

Castillo de San Marcos
Castillo de San Marcos
This is a must see…The walls were made from coquina (Coquina (/koʊˈkiːnə/; Spanish: “cockle.”) is a sedimentary rock that is composed either wholly or almost entirely of the transported, abraded, and mechanically sorted fragments of the shells of either molluscs, trilobites, brachiopods, or other invertebrates). It was incredible.. the energy of the age and hundreds of years of people living in that space was rather heady. After we walked our legs off and my hip was starting to come apart from the hip tear I’m dealing with right now, we headed back to the campground. The first stop when we arrived was the office to find out if we could stay one more night..yep, that’s right! In the words of my youngest, “Say what?” We are redeeming ourselves and playing tourist one more day!
Beautiful!
Beautiful!

2 thoughts on “Redeeming ourselves”

  1. I grew up about 20 minutes from Ft. Lauderdale, and went to college in Gainesville. I’ve been to St. Augustine several times and if I ever run away from home, it’ll be to there. It’s a gorgeous, romantic town. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

